250hz problem at FOH

jameskerr87

Hi,

I am a FOH operator in a 2000 capacity venue, we have D&B C4 Tops, 6 per side plus 8 Funktion One 218's (4 Per side). I am struggling in my mix position, which is situated on a balcony. The venue as a whole sounds great but the monitors are ruining the mix at the FOH position. With loud vocal monitors on stage there is a huge amount of energy at 250hz focused at me. So I tend to strut off down to monitor world and pull the offending frequency out of the monitors but by the time I get it down to a reasonable level for me the monitors are sounding crap and complaints start coming from the artists. It really is only an audible problem for me at the FOH position and is the only place this occurs, but it affects my whole mix leaving my vocal mix out front too thin. There is no acoustic treatment in the room, metal roof (about 5 foot from my head) that slopes off behind me. It is a great big metal shed!! There is no budget for acoustic treatment, which is what I believe the venue would benefit from so I suppose my question is what else can I do (bearing in mind I cannot move the FOH position either)

Cheers

James

yeah if the desk is yamaha, studio manager and get down to the stage..

if not.. there is no reason why, in a day nothing is going on you cant physically take the desk too the stage and run some XLR's back up to the patch point or wherever back into the amps...

it really would be best to have the control and hear at the same location.

also.. free but not best option:

You might just need to "learn" the sound of your space from your desk.

Dont try to mix to perfection, but take that 250hz into account when you hear it.. train your ears to know that it should be there... in theory you just need to confirm that the extra energy is just coming from these monitors.