Airfader - LS9

MarkBarl

Failing to see the need given that it's just mirroring the function of Studio manager.

Seems kinda pointless to me.

Alan

I have no experience with Airfader, but I do with StageMix, and the fact that StageMix is an app designed for a touch screen interface makes it much easier to use than a wireless remote version of Studio Manager. You can do a hell of a lot more with Studio Manager, but for the functions you need most often, StageMix is much easier to use.

I have not tried Studio Manager with a capacitive pen on my iPad, which may make it a little easier to use, but as is, StageMix wins the usability battle.

Mac

I have no experience with Airfader, but I do with StageMix, and the fact that StageMix is an app designed for a touch screen interface makes it much easier to use than a wireless remote version of Studio Manager.

(Mac, you're a busy guy, I've seen you around for years at another forum.)

You're right - frustration with Studio Manager led to my first proof-of-concept version of AirFader back in January of last year. Studio Manager's focus is duplicating every aspect of the console and is very good for pre-configuring a console. AirFader tries instead to maximize usability and make it practical to actually walk around with, and StageMix seems to have taken the same approach.

Different tools for different uses.

I have no experience with Airfader, but I do with StageMix, and the fact that StageMix is an app designed for a touch screen interface makes it much easier to use than a wireless remote version of Studio Manager.

(Mac, you're a busy guy, I've seen you around for years at another forum.)

You'll probably see me for years to come, mostly at another forum. ;)

I'll have to give your app a look. I think limited functionality with easy usability is the way to go. I don't need access to patching from my iPad, but faders and eq are a big deal.