Pot in-line with output of amp

Cheeseweasel

I'm trying to find a suitable pot to replace the volume control on a lecture-room AV installation.

The installation uses a combined audio switcher/amplifier that is locked away in a cupboard, connected to a remote control panel mounted on the lectern. Also on the lectern is a volume control which is connected in series between the output of the amp and the two passive speakers in the lecture room (i.e. when it's turned down it's getting the full output of the amp into it).

Just to be clear, for the LH channel of the amp, the -ve terminal is connected straight through to the -ve terminal of the speaker. The +ve terminal of the amp is connected to the +ve terminal of the speaker, with the pot in between.

I'm not an electronics expert by any means, but instinctively this seems like a bit of a poor solution. I'm guessing that the reason the pot has gone crackly and is fully "open" at both ends of its travel is that the high-level output of the amp has damaged it. I can't find the model of the pot (it seems like a cheap and cheerful one, just says "Ameg" on the back - a name that doesn't return anything on google).

So, I need to find a suitable dual logarithmic pot to replace it. Let's say the amp is 50W into 8ohms (that's a pretty liberal estimate, it's probably not so powerful). At this kind of level should I be worried about the power rating of the pot? I'm looking at a pot which is rated for 30Vac, power rating 0.05W (RS #236-9604). Would this do the job?

Thanks in advance.

? I'm looking at a pot which is rated for 30Vac, power rating 0.05w

unless you want a free smoke machine then no.

is it a standard low impedance system or a 100v line system, if its a low impoedance (4, 8 or maybe 16 ohm) do a seartch for an L pad,you want the power rating to equal or be greater than the amps raiting and the impedance the same as the amp and speakers.