Questions about safety of UV light in a club

en4rab

I apologise for being the prototype newbie who joins and immediately asks a question but I have strayed into an area I have little knowledge of and I need help finding out more on the relevent saftey standards for the use of UV in a nightclub.

My friend hire's the back function room of a pub once a month for an alternative music night, the equipment is also hired and professionally set up and consists of a sort of portable desk with cd players amps, mixers etc and a rail above for a few lighting effects to be attached to. Ahh I think I found the correct terminoligy a "deck stand"

The only thing this hasnt included is UV light.

Up to now this has been provided by a 40W UV striplight from gadgetshop gaffa taped to the legs of the deck stand which is on the stage area behind the dancefloor, but for the past 2 events this has got broken during the unpacking and repacking so I said I would look for a more robust solution, going wthout UV is not an option as goths like their fluorescent spikey rubber things to glow :angry:

I had a search for UV floodlights and at first turned up only 400W devices which to me seem very wrong and conjour up images of severe sunburn and welders eye and headlines liek these: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/2724277.stm.

I also found a 160W "cannon" here: http://www.stagebeat.co.uk/index.php?page_id=269

This seems a little more reasonable and im sure the DJ my friend hire's from wouldnt mind adding the light permenantly to the desk stand so avoiding breakages.

But im still confused as to whether this is safe as its still 4x the output of a striplight, from searching I gather the the output must be in the UV-A spectrum only 315 - 400 nm which I assume the above is but will check before buying, but I have been unable to find information or guide lines on output power, there doesnt appear to be anything specifically relating to this on the nrpb's site or the hse site.