Level 3 City and Guilds 2330 sparky.

Evening, I suppose I should introduce myself, my name's Will, I'm 23 and have completed a 5 year apprenticeship as an electrician, I've worked in a few different areas from refrigeration to first and second fixing houses. But never at any point have I been properly happy with what I'm doing, and have always been looking at how I can use my qualification to get into another field that I'm actually interested in.

A few years ago when I went to my first big rock concert (foo fighters at the O2) I realised stage lighting was an area I could definitely see myself working in, ever since then I've found myself watching the lights at concerts/festivals just as much as I watch the bands.

What I actually came here to ask was, in the world of lighting and sound techs, how advantageous is my city and guilds qualification, if at all. I know it all depends on on-the-job experience, that's pretty obvious, but I mean if I was to do some work experience, enroll in a training course or even apply for a job, would the quali work in my favour?

oh and I have no A Levels, but did pretty well in my GCSEs.

Willis, if you know very little about stage lighting/electrics the very first thing to do is to find out. This means reading all the recent posts on similar subjects...so you know what you are up against ref getting a post in a theatre.

You cannot go wrong by joining an amdram group or see about casual work in any theatre which will have you...this will if nothing else let you see how theatres work and learn some of the language...and you will find out at first hand how long the hours are...what Directors are like to work for etc etc, ** laughs out loud **.

At the same time google ABTT and see what's on offer there. That is only one organisation btw. Try some of the ads and links on the forum and find out how relevant your qualifications are...probably not as useful as you might hope.