Truss

James

Hi all.

I'm looking to start investing in truss.

Just a couple of pieces to start with for a specific project but expect to build over the next year.

The question is what system to go with long term.

My local hire firm stocks trilite so there is an argument for that (however I probably will go for square section as I can see myself needing to make a 10m span in the future and I can't do that with trilite). So other than that are there any suggestions.

Having only ever hired bits when needed I have no experience of long term problems, has anyone had any problems with any types or is there anything that will bite me in the future. (reliance on specific adapters, incompatibility etc... )

Thanks

James

PS of course if anyone has some pieces hanging around that they would be interested in getting rid of please give me a shout. :blink:

Square truss has the advantage of needing less different types of corner as you don't have the issue of which way the apex points.

But used trilite is normally the easiest stuff to find on the second-hand market.

Only other point I can think of is that some used truss is sold because it's failed inspection and might be bent or have cracked welds, etc. If you are buying second-hand stuff, be sure to check it out very carefully.

Dave

All truss becomes Work Equipment or Lifting Equipment and each piece needs a certificate of manufacture and further certs of periodic inspection. There's also a lot of unbranded three and two tube truss coming into the disco trade informally referred as tri- / bi- lite with no provenance at all.

Buying truss srarts you on the paper trail of certs for every piece and designs and load calcs for every rig up. Read Chris Higgs' books.

Dave, Thanks, I hadn't though of the different angles required, of course that is a little obvious now I think of it. It's another reason to go for square section (I was thinking mainly of the extra loading I could get out of it ultimately)