Career move advice...

Hello folks. I don't often post, but I hope you don't mind me asking for some advice.

I'm currently trying to work out what I should be doing with my life, and at the moment I think I have a number of options.

First however, some background information: I am 20 years old right now and I'm living in Glasgow. Currently, I'm studying for an MEng in chemical engineering at Strathclyde University. (In my 3rd year of 5 - so I'm looking a bit ahead of time here.) Although I plan on finishing my current course, I do not plan on using it in a career in chemical engineering. I would like to make the move to technical theatre at the end of my time, but I'm not really sure on the best way to go about it.

The way I see it, I have three possible routes:

• More university. Attend a course such as the BA in Technical and Production Arts at the RSAMD. Downsides are the time involved and also potential costs. Advantages are obvious.
  • College. Doing something like (for example) an HND/HNC in technical theatre. (It seems loads of places do the HNC, but very few do the HND - perhaps I'm just not looking hard enough!) Downsides are again the time involved, and I've heard (through various sources) that such courses are not very well rated by todays professionals. 
  • Start from the bottom and work my a*se off. Downsides are that I'd have to rely on my somewhat limited experience to carry me through the initial stages, learning as I go - all very well if there are people out there who are willing to take on an enthusiastic "amateur" and help them train on the job.

As I stated above, my experience is limited to a few amateur shows a year, but within that, I've had some extremely varied experience working in different roles. (Programming and opping lights, set design and construction, costume, stage management and I've dabbled in sound.) My "area of interest" is lighting and set design and construction.