Advice on replacing wireless mic setup in secondary school

Remiel

Hi Guys,

I was directed to this forum by a friend over at Edugeek.net. I have recently been employed as the IT/AV Technician at a high school, leaving me responsible for the hall sound and mic system. I have some knowledge of these from being involved with stage productions during my time at school, however that was a long time ago and I’m a bit stumped.

The current setup I have inherited is as follows -

Moss-Fet Electrovision ELV800 Amp

Pulse EQ216 Equalizer

S.Com Samson stereo Compressor

Soundcraft eFX12 Mixer

In regards to mics, the current setup is 6 JTS UHF PT-950B belt packs with an assortment of JTS CM-201 and unbranded lapel mics, most of which are broken beyond my ability to repair.

These are paired with 6 JTS UHF US-901D Receivers.

So here's my problem. I've been told that I need to replace the mics with a budget of between £2500 - £4000 (not set yet as they're still 'finding' the money). Essentially they want a price list for 5 - 6 new radio mic sets with interchangeable Lapel / headset mics for school events / productions respectively.

I've spent the last 3 days reading up on suitable mics and to be honest I’m none the wiser in regards to an effective and compatible set that aren’t so cheap they're not worth buying or far beyond the price range I’ve been set. I'm also concerned about running 6 wireless mics at the same time because according to my predecessor the current JTS lot have been nothing but trouble (I suspect through mistreatment). I've tried going down the road of rentals and although they were very successful, I just can’t sell the idea to SMT.

If anyone could offer some advice I would really appreciate it.

Many Thanks,

Matt