Work experience

Hi all!

I am a student of lighting design in Rose Bruford College and just about to graduate in June.

I was wondering how I could get some work experience in the industry and more training.

I would like to know more about using lighting desks and generally about lighting kit but also get experience of followspoting,assisting in lighting design and learn as much as I can really about everything related to lighting.

Thought a good start might be trying to get some work in festivals this summer. I e-mailed some people but haven't got a reply yet.

Anyone who could suggest something or maybe offer me a job?? :** laughs out loud **:

thanx!

Oh dear, this is going to make me sound like a miserable old cynic, for which I apologise in advance ... but doesn't this just go some way to backing up my theories about lighting design courses turning out students who are chock full of grand ideas about design but know precious little about the tools of the trade? This gentleman/lady is about to graduate from a degree course in a technical theatre subject, yet they still feel that they need to take on some work experience just to get general experience of lighting equipment, f/spot operation, and so on.