Technical Theatre Apprenticeship

Afternoon All,

I'm currently studying at South Essex College on the BND Technical Theatre course full-time and I am in my first year however I must admit that I really don't like it there. There are many reasons why which I will be happy to discuss with people privately but don't want to flood this topic with a huge rant.

So, I'm hoping to find something else to do other than full-time college and I am looking into the idea of apprenticeships within the industry. I've been working as a freelancer for approximately two years, mainly focusing on the lighting sector of the industry and have worked on a large range of events from Theatre - Live Events & even Corporate. I have a good knowledge of technical theatre on the whole and am comfortable with Sound, A.V, Staging Systems & Rigging.

I would of course love to work in the industry full-time however due to being young, it is a lot harder to find an employer. So instead of getting put-off the whole industry by staying on at college, I want to find something that will fill my time, is industry related and enjoyable however I am struggling to find anywhere that offers an apprenticeship scheme.

I am based in Witham, Essex (Near Chelmsford) and can travel using public transport to anywhere within reason. I will hopefully be able to drive by July too so will have access to the majority of the country if neccesary!

I am a physically strong and fit person with a good technically working mind who is happy to work as a team or individually and I will always put 110% into every task I am part of. I am very passionate about the industry and will happily try anything.

So, if you know of anywhere that I can get to who offers apprenticeship schemes in our line of work or if you are a company who may be interested in offering an apprenticeship please do not hesitate to get in touch.