Burning Waste Bin on Stage

Malcolm Gordon

Our group is commencing rehearsals for the farce "No S?x Please, We're British". The action calls for a metal waste-paper bin to be set alight. The (edited) stage directions say

"She drops 4 or 5 photos in the metal waste-paper bin; takes a further photo, sets fire to a corner; it burns well but when dropped into the bin it belches out black smoke. To extinguish it she tips a vase of flowers and water into it. It continues to smoke; she then retrieves a charred and blackened flower."

I'm looking for suggestions as to how to achieve this safely. Given that the play ran for 17 years in the West End, tours occasionally and is a favourite of amateur groups, I am hoping that someone here has experience of working the effect (or similar).

Before anyone asks, I propose to make a risk assessment and ask for permission from the venue and the LA, when I know how we are going to do it.

All contributions welcome.

Malcolm

I'm no expert, but my first thoughts are do you need black smoke? I think white smoke will give the audience the idea of what's happening. I'm saying that because black smoke will be difficult to do short of doing what it's says on the tin and burning photos...... :)

So a small fogger in the bin will do the smoke bit :** laughs out loud **:

Could they just pretend to set fire to the pictures by going through the actions just in the lip of the bin so the audience don't actually see what's happening, but will guess?

Then over to the fogger and some coloured lamps :huh:

ETA: or do what Will suggests below :(

Metal waste basket of a heavy enough gauge to withstand the heat.

Plenty of water in the vase.

Sufficient rehearsal.

Crew member standing by and observing with a fire extinguisher.

Suitable risk assessment.

Don't see any problems except for panicky people in the heirachy putting their feet down.