Big Bit of Perspex

rowan.b1000

Hi,

I am currently a student at LIPA, and after Christmas I am creating an art installation which is part of an art exhibition in the main auditorium (PMA).

My piece of work involves putting things into the trap door of the stage. I want people to be able to walk over the trap door and be able to look down onto what’s inside it. So basically I am looking for a piece of Perspex or glass that is roughly 1200 mm by 1200mm that people can walk on.

I was wondering if anyone knows of anywhere I can buy one on the cheap, or of anyone who would be willing to lend a piece out if you happen to have a piece in your loft.

I know this is a very long shot but if you did lend us anything you would get it back and a mention in the program of the event.

Thanks

Rowan

Glass or perspex that is strong enough to walk on in that size is going to be thick! Perspec will also craze very easily and soon become difficult to see through. I'd suggest a commercial glass company, the type who do shop windows could be a good place to start, as maybe they have a broken large piece that could be made to work - but I bet they won't like the idea of people walking on it. A four foot square hole is quite a big one really! Three 15 stone blokes standing in the middle is a bit scary.

+1 on Paul's comments.

1200mm x 1200mm is a big area to cover and will need a hefty piece of toughened glass. There's a reason why the viewing floors in places like the Eiffel and CN Towers are not very big! I reckon you might find that some sort of railing around the edge is a much better bet

Does it need to be perspex or glass?

Maybe have a look at some sturdy mesh but open enough to see through.

Have a call some of the staging companies, they often have mesh panels for their stages for underfloor monitors etc.

If that works, adjust the size of the whole to the size of the panel, jobs' right :)

Would also fix the problem of the perspex/glass being slippery....