Freelancer Proof of PLI

indyld

Right, it's that time of year again when my inbox overflows with the "We notice from our records that we do not have a copy of your current insurance details on file" contacts from the four corners of the world.

As a busy freelancer, I have decided on a new personal policy regarding these requests and present it here on the BR as food for thought for both freelancers and companies alike. Here's the deal:

Many of the companies that pester me to fax and email insurance paperwork on what seems like a regular basis (surely it's only once a year, but it seems like more) I have never worked for. The rest I have hardly ever worked for. Most I will probably never work for.

The reason that we engage in this correspondence is that sometime in the past, someone talked to someone, a phone call happened and I ended up on a freelancer database. Hey, I still hold out hope that one day we can work together. But the last contact I had with the company (and tons of others) was a similar one - about insurance details.

I realise that companies like to keep their house in order and I have no objection to proffering said insurance details as part of normal business transactions. But this new fashion of administrators trolling databases and firing off emails to unwary freelancers is now starting to take up too much of my time and I ain't seeing a return on it.

So, my new policy is that I will gladly send companies all the details they desire on reciept of a booking for my services (perhaps, who knows an actual PO).

As part of genuine business dealings, I feel that the time spent scanning, faxing, attaching and cover noting is well spent. If it's just part of some administraters job creation scheme to keep them off Facebook for 5 minutes, I afraid I'm out. It is my responsiblity to subcontract in a manner that complies with any contract that I may have with the company and this includes keeping my insurance current.