My First 'Tour'

LX-Dave

Hi,

Firstly, I hope this is in the right section of the forum ? Mods please move if not.

Here's the background...

Although it is not totally confirmed yet, A local Am-Dram group is staging "Journeys End" later in the year, initially in our local village hall, but then touring other village halls and a couple of small theaters. They have asked me to design lighting.

I have never worked on a touring show before, only on short runs in one venue, where I was able to tailor the lighting design to the available rig and equipment, and, knowing the venue in great detail (as they're were local), I knew what I was dealing with.

As this is only in it's initial stages (casting, read-through's and now rehearsals), I have not had much involvement as yet.

I understand I may get more informative responses once I have more information from the producer(s), but I was wondering whether there's anything you think I should know about running lighting for a small scale touring show, and any advice you may have.

Regards,

Dave

One of the most important factors to consider in village halls is power - most of them only have 13 amp sockets and almost definitely won't have a fixed lighting rig in place.

I did a similar tour earlier this year (village halls and a school) and we just took T-bars and a handful of PAR cans (the most we used were about 8; you really can't get away with any more in most venues as once someone turns on that tea urn to prepare for the interval you've got a bit of a problem) and it still looked pretty successful - you're unlikely to get anywhere you can rig from, so stands and portable kit is generally the way to go.