Teaching The Tech Crew

michael

Hi before I start I just want to say that I am a student studying a technical theatre course, my tutor has asked me if I wanted to teach some of the younger tech crew at school some lighting (from year 8 to year 10) I would like to do this but im not sure where to start.

I was thinking of going through some lights such as par cans, source 4s, fresnels and basic equipment and coiling a cable properly.

Any ideas would be appriciated. :up:

Definitely start with the basics.

Hang a lantern of each type you have available on a couple of T-bars or 2 stands with a 10 ft scaff bar between them.

Cable 'em up to a small dimmer rack and manual desk.

Plug in a smoke and/or haze machine.

Point the lanterns at a plain cyc/wall and demo the differences in the beam shape/quality etc, and show how they can be changed by way of the zoom/shutters/barn doors/focus etc depending on the unit.

Change the angle of projection onto the wall/cyc to show how the beams can change that way.

Have a 'portable' lantern - probably a Par can as it's lightweight and can be easily thrown about a bit - show them side light, front light, top light, up light and back light. If you have the kit, then use various lanterns to combine 2 or 3 of the above and show how to model the actors.

Drop some colour in front of each one, including (if you can) some gels which look similar in the swatch, but quite different when in front of a light source. Add different colours to top/side/back light etc to show how THAT can give interesting effects.

Pick out some interesting gobos and pop them in turn int the profile. (Or even combine more than one with 2 or more profiles).

Then use a simple breakout in a lantern - possibly one hung in the grid, to show the patterns on the deck.

Fire up the smoke/haze and show what that does to the beams and how it can be used to accentuate backlight.