Grand Piano Mic - With Big Band

djmartin999

So, let me describe the situation as it may help.

I am a past pupil from a high school in Essex, UK, and each year they hold a Jazz Night in the school hall. I am one of the technicians who set everything up and usually focus on sound. Ive been doing it since 2005, and each year we've got it a bit better sounding (with less feedback than the year before).

Basically we've got a full size concert Boston Steinway piano, new for 2006. It has to compete with a whole big band, and usually it is only the piano out of the whole band which provides us with some lovely low end feedback each year. As I've said, this year (2009) we achieved virtually no feedback but I still wasnt able to turn it up as much as I would have liked to.

This year we used an Audio Technica boundary mic on the soundboard approximately under middle C 2 feet from the hammers, and a Sennheiser E845 about 1 cm from the hammers on a mic stand with the lid closed as far as it could go (I realise that this is possibly not the best mic to use, but it gave us a rhythmic punchy sound which is what we are going for seeing as though its jazz / rock music that gets played).

For piano foldback, we used an RCF Art 322A on its side. It worked pretty well.

My question is, how can I improve it again (and if possible, bear in mind the budget is tight, the school provides us will less than £200 each time we put it on and usually we end up spending our own money on gear we wouldnt use any other time of the year other than this event, which we do for love :)

For pictures of this years event (so you can gauge the size of the hall), please visit

http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?...;albumId=967744

The next concert isn't til July 2010 so we have plenty of time,

Many thanks for your help people