Jands Vista

michael

I have limited experience of using a Vista (Vista PC with a playback wing, not a T2/T4) as we've had ours only a few weeks, and have not used one in anger, but....

Yes it can do theatre style playback. You can assign a cue stack, or "clip" to a playback and have "go" button control. You can have pages of playbacks for busking / dance shows / stuff with no cue stack. You can also mix this in with live control of presets (pallets) which makes it quite flexible.

The biggest difference is not having to remember fixture numbers and DMX values. If you want all fixtures red, you pick red from RGB sliders, the LEE swatch book, or a HSV pallet and it happens.

I've been using the vista for about a year now.

It's really good and is a very visual version where you "select" what you want, not "set" it.

It's fantastic for creating cues and editing within them and merging and the like.

This is made for big rigs, and ours consists mainly of generic dimmers... When we do plug the MAC250s in, it works a treat with many different modes for selecting things. You can select colour via a colour spectrum, lee gel number, pallete, individual RGB or CMY sliders, Gel Frame and DMX address. This is all part of the generic fixture model of the vista where cues are stored as "red" rather then "Universe 1, channel 25 @024"

It's really easy to learn the basic aspects but I suggest when you hit a wall, you either hack at it and read the manual (which belive it or not is actually easily read). However, you will find that it is an automatic console that probably isn't good in non-pre-proggrammed situations. (This could be overcome if you create clips of the groups that you want and then use them on the playback sliders)

What I do suggest though is that you have two permenent external monitors attached.

One for the playback screen and another for the Smart Effects screen.

Hope this helps