Needing some help....

Ali2580

Hi everyone. Sorry if this is an amateur question or if it has been asked before but couldn't find anything on the BR about it.

I was at a meeting about a show last night and the producer was telling me what he wanted. He said he was having a gauze at the back of the stage which he wanted projections onto. The theatre is a small 70 seater so we don't have much room FOH.

He basically said he is wanting a projector to show pictures (fireplace, woodlands) to sort of set the scene onto the gauze as there is not much of a set on purpose. However, I have no experience on projection and was wondering what is the best possible way to go about this? Also, where to get equipment from?

I am located in Tayside, Scotland and the theatre is the Abbey Theatre in Arbroath.

Thanks if anyone replies

What you need is directly related to what you can spend...

Ideally, a media server going into a relatively high output projector.

When specifying a projector, you want to look at a few main things: Price (duh), output (the higher the better in most cases), the throw you have available (distance from where you can mount the projector to the back wall), and the size of the projection surface.

Unfortunately, stages tend to be a lot wider than they are high so you often have to waste a lot of the vertical pixels, or contort the image a lot digitally, so take your back wall's width as the constant to determine lense and throw distance needed - both Barco and Christy provide lense calculators - as do many other manufacturers.