Suggestions on creating a DMX control board

dpavelko

Hello,

First I am going to write what my idea is, and then what I am thinking.

I want to make a DMX512 light control board, that is customized for a community theatre I work in. We just bought a new LED lighting system that has 12 LEDS all feeding from one box (each is addressed individually, so a total of 36 addresses) I want to make a board that has a grand master, and a slider for R,G,&B. AND I want to make a wheel that I can spin to a color and it will automatically make it.

I also want to be able to plug this control board in between our existing 48 channel control board, and our computer system.

I am an electrical engineering student (second year) so this is something that I am willing to invest the time to learn now! I have done quite a bit of researching online but have not found the holy grail.

Some questions I have:

1) Are their fader/sliders that are already DMX, that don't need a analog -> DMX conversion.

2) How does a grand master work, technically. Is it done on the analog side or after it has been converted into the digital world. (I get what a grand master does... but not HOW it does it)

3) Do you need a DMX transmitter on each channel that all feeds into a microprocessor?

4) If any of you know of any sites or have information yourself of helpful DIY stuff related to making a DMX board I would greatly appreciate it.

I am trying to learn the world of digital design/circuits/etc. so I am learning theory but if you know of specific parts that would be helpful too!

Thanks! I will keep you updated on my successes! :)

-Dylan

P.S. questions welcomed!

We have a 48 channel DOVE lighting board, that is connected with a STARPORT made by DOVE that runs on DOS... yes DOS. DOVE is a small theatre/church lighting company that is based out of my town.

Do you have any suggestions for a cheap computer control USB -> DMX_OUT ideally something that runs on the (dare I say it) mac?