Tonmeister Course

I'm at surrey at the moment. I have plenty of friends on the course, and it does exactly what it says on the tin. If you want to become a recording engineer (and a very good and thorough one) this is the course for you. The comment from my fellow peers is that the course has little application to live sound engineer (they teach the theory as such but don't apply it like they do for recording). I'm on the (new) audio media engineering course, more aimed at theory and 'what's inside the black box' of audio systems. we share some modules with them too, including computer audio systems, sound synthesis, digital signal processing, and audio engineering (things like DAC ADCs etc).

Also, at surrey is a very active stage crew, join that and you'll have the opportunity to do many gigs in different roles, in a relatively 'safe' environment: you can't get sacked!

hope this helps, feel free to PM for more info.

Simon

I graduated from Tonmeister in 2004.

Lots of really good audio theory, and a fair bit of practical studio work. A good opportunity to develop skills for using in a studio.

As simon says, there isn't really anything practical to do with live engineering, but the theory is all useful info to have. To gain practical experience of live engineering, and other live things, I did (and still do) things for Stage Crew (ill always argue that things I learnt from doing gigs were much more useful in getting jobs than my degree, in terms of general work-based skills, teamwork, dealing with crisis and stress etc.).

Enjoyed my time there, was hard work at times, but glad I did it. But dont think that doing the course will guarantee you the dream job recording top names in a top studio as soon as you graduate, it doesn't quite work like that.

I am aware that the audio media course picks up some of the tonmeister modules, and offers a different mix of things.