1st time projectionist

Zulu

Hi,

I'm planning to project images onto the cyc for my theatre's upcoming production of Breaking the Code. I'm pretty new to this technician stuff, and have never done any projection before. I anticipate using a laptop and a normal computer projector (although I haven't got one yet). The projector will be mounted on the grid, angled down at about 30-40 degrees, at the cyc, maybe about 2.5 m away.

A few questions spring to mind:

Will this arrangement work? (I could position the projector differently, but I want to miss the acors as much as possible)

What's the best connection, eg VGA, s-video, etc?

I estimate needing about 25-30m of cable to the perch. Will that be ok? (and where can I buy that kind of length cable?)

Will the image be bright enough with normal stage lighting?

Is there any preferred paint or colour for the 'screen' area of the cyc, or just white emulsion?

Is there any specialst software needed, or just any "slideshow" software.

Can the advancing of the slides be driven from a DMX programmable lighting desk?

Anything else I should be asking?

Hope you can help with some of these entry-level questions. :D

thanks, Zulu.

Angle of projector - seems excesively steep - I very much doubt you'll be able to keystone a cheap projector enough to be able to overcome that sort of angle.

Connection - VGA would be preferrable.

Cable length is fine - one place to look for that sort of length at reasonable cost would be CPC.

Will it be bright enough? Depends how you define 'normal' stage lighting. As long as it's not too bright, and you take care when focussing and plotting to keep as much light as you can off the projection area, you should be OK as long as it's a halfway-decent projector.

Colour? Plain white is good!

Software? Depends what you want to project. If it's just a sequence of stills, good ol' PowerPoint (or Keynote on a Mac, or its OpenOffice equivalent) will do the job.