how much?

poridge

hey all,

ok im new to all this, I have been working as an amateur for the last few years with a small team. I have been approached by a local school to assist them in there school production it lasts for 4 nights. we thought a fair price would be £200 total. but with no experience of cost before am unsure wethter this is reasonable or not. any advice would be apriciated

thanks

To be perfectly honest it really depends on you.

Is this an attempt to start a career (either full or part time) as a travelling technician?

Or is it that the school have offered to pay you for the services that you have til now offered for free (as many a good amateur probably would)?

If it's anything more than pocket money, then you need to think of what the job is worth to you.

If it's just you and no kit (other than your tools and any relevant PPE) then £200 is perhaps a good newbie starting point for 4 'days' work assuming those 'days' are 4 hour evenings op'ing and you have maybe a couple of fuller days rigging and setting up. But the school are perhaps unworldly in paying for theatre techs

- they may jump at it, or they may think 'whoa! that's over our budget!'.

Freelancers tend to run out at around £140+ for a full day's work. My last (very infrequent) freelance job came in at £180, but were significantly more than a school show, and likely longer hours than you'll put in there. Casual wages are lower - likely around £9 per hr for basic tech work, but again can vary.

But as I say - decide why YOU are doing this job and pitch it accordingly.

Another consideration as an amateur (and the rest of us in different ways) must be do you want to do it?

If it will be fun to do then the school are paying for your transport and for your team to have a couple of pints after the last show.

If it is a JOB then they are not paying enough.

Only you can decide where on a scale of 'free' to 'pro. charges' this show comes.

Edit-Ynot sliped his post in while I was typing