Ecotheatre and beyond

ecotheatre

Hi there

Just wanted to introduce myself. I am a journalist from the UK - If you read L&SI, Pro Sound News, Installation Europe or L&SA you may have come across my stuff.

I've recently started a new website to share information across the industry on improving energy efficiency in venues, on tours, and during events. I would be very interested in any contributions people want to make to the site, whether it be things they have done themselves or stuff you have heard about.

The idea is to share information on positive action that can be taken, recommend suppliers, products, advice, even create an eco-digs list for various towns and cities around the world. There is an area for Students and I am also trying to build up a book and research list.

I am also interested in transport - anything really that will help to make this industry the cleanest it can possibly be.

At the moment the site is in its infancy and has been funded entirely by myself so its development will be determined by how much I can afford. Sponsorship and any offers of help would of course very welcome!

I really do look forward to hearing from you and from being a member of this forum, together I think we really can make a difference and improve all our working lives.

Welcome - I'm afraid I'm not really an eco-convert. Maybe just not got feeling for it. At home I try to be as eco-friendly as I can, recycling where possible, but at work - maybe not quite so. I put up with an electricity bill of around a grand a year, because I leave the computers on, the studio racks on and the other bits of kit - simply because they seem to be reliable this way, so I put up with the running costs. I use whatever kit will do the job best, I would certainly never consider an item because of it's impact on the environment. I'd use the right one for the job, and if that was the power hungry one - I wouldn't lose sleep.