New Lighting Board Technology in Theatres

dannybliz

Hello everybody,

I am currently a student at CSSD about to finish my course and I am writing my IST about 'How Theatres Choose New Lighting Board Technology'

I want to look at how people such as chief electricians make decision so they end up with the right board for the right venue. I would like to know the kind of processes people go through when investing in new equipment.

It would be great to hear about theatres that have just or are thinking about investing in a new lighting board.

Do people have any thoughts about where the theatre industry is going towards what boards will be in what theatres? And will there be a range of boards that will be perfect for a producing house, and a range for a touring house?

Thank you.

Dan

OK, well we have a Fat Frog, for three main reasons.

1. It was recommended by SLX back in 1992 when the venue was built

2. It's a pretty easy desk for school kids to pick up on, and many local receiving houses have one.

3. It has capability for our scrollers and movers.

On bigger shows we sometimes bring in another desk that we have been trained on.

HTH

Chris

Slightly OT but is the fat frog really 16 years old!?

Back on topic. The first step is establish what the desk needs to be able to do, how many channels it has, intelligent capacity etc. After this the available budget is evaluated. Once the budget has been established, research into the desks which do the job required and are in budget is carried out. It is then narrowed down to a choice of maybe 3 - 5, looking at the specs and how easy the desk would be to use and train other on etc.

After this a demo is usually taken on the desks to see how they are liked and if they do what's needed as easily as claimed.

The desk is then chosen and bought.

At least that is my understanding!!!

In terms of schools, we have a Jands Event 400 series and a Fat Frog