"Parking" a channel on a 520/520i

Sam Betts

Hey all,

So I have a 520i for a console in my theater. Unfortunately, I am a Hog/GrandMA/ETC programmer. On other consoles, there is a feature called "Park", whereby you can, effectively, lock a channel at any intensity and it will not be affected in any way until you "Un-Park" it; it cant even be recorded into cues.

So for example; you could "park" your work-lights on for the crew to work and you can do all of your board notes without having the work-lights show up in any of your changes. Another "park" perk; let's say that some dancer goes running off into the wings and finds out first hand why they call 'em shin-busters. Now you've got this light knocked WAY out of focus; well sir, go ahead and park it out until you can get some fool with a wrench to fix it (and clean off any remaining dancer DNA).

The Strand has a "Hold" function that holds a channel in active control. This is problematic if you are trying to update cues on the fly (because the channels will update at their "held" levels and then inevitably track through) or if you want to use programmer shotcuts like ENTER@ENTER.

I get a lot of smaller touring shows through my space that carry a lighitng designer/director and we augment our rep-plot to their show - essentially writing a new show everytime (especially here because no one in the states has a 520, so no one carries a show on a strand disk). Every on of these non-Strandies ask to park channels.

Is there something I can do other than grimmace and explain that I have no idea (usually followed by the complaint that I got stuck with this board). Is there any functions like "Park" on a Strand 520?

Thanks

Sam

Resident Lighting Designer/Asstant Production Manager

The Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston

channel [hold] will hold the whole channel, chanel[.]attribute[hold] will hold a specific attribute

[shift][hold] will unhold the channel/attribute