Sound Op for a band

workie2209

Were is the best place to op a sound desk for a live band that will be playing at weddings and parties. I was thinking directly behind the band in the middle. I am completely new to doing live sound and am trying to feel my way in the dark on this one.

Any help

Gary

Are you talking about mixing from the stage or from out in the hall facing the stage?

If the former, it really doesn't matter. You can't hear what the audience is getting anyway and have to rely on yourself (or somebody else) taking a walk occasionally and coming back with a suggestion (like "more vocals, turn down the bass" or whatever). Just put the mixer someplace out of the way but convenient.

If it's the second option, then the classic advice is to be about two thirds of the way from the speakers to the back of the room (avoiding being under balconies though), and just slightly off centre. Clearly, this ideal position is rarely available and compromises have to be struck.

Bob

Why do you suggest "slightly off center"

You get what's sometimes referred to as a power alley up the centre aisle - the bass from each side combines constructively and sounds rather more powerful than it does anywhere else in the room. Of course, Bob may have another reason in mind...

You're very much on the right track, Shez, but the "power alley" effect is only part of it. For similar reasons you can also get very nasty phase cancellations and comb filtering effects on higher frequencies. I was once forced to do a mix from a point exactly half way between the two speaker stacks and it was one of the strangest experiences ever...moving my head even an inch or two completely changed the sound. I ended up standing at one end of the mixer and reaching across when I needed to do something!