Best methods of Communication!

Hi Every1,

Just wanted to know what you think the best methods of communication are for a medium size school production are, I have heard the phases cans being used a lot can some1 explain to me what they are and how they work in simpleton language as I'm still learning the technician lingo.

We currently have nothing but I may have access to some radios, The budget for this is very low and I mean low £20 and under :< so I may result in searching ebay :<

Thanks for the help in advantage

from

Jambo

Cans is a 'slang' term for a ring intercom. Basically, it's a master power supply unit connected to a cable bus that runs around the theatre and has connections tapped off it at various places (usually 3-pin XLR - or 6-pin for two-channel). Into these are plugged (using ordinary mic cable) a belt pack, with an associated headset. As long as a particular haedset's mic is switched on at its beltpack, whatever that user says is heard by everyone else on the ring (each user having their own volume control governing the overall level of what they hear).

For examples of typical ring intercom equipment, go here for information on the TecPro range by Canford Audio - this is the kit that you'll find in a majority of UK theatres.

Cans, of the metal verity you require two and a very long bit of string....drill a hole into the bottom of both Cans pull either end of the string through and tie a knot pull tight and speak!!!!

No in all seriousness "Cans" refers to the Talkback system, a pair of Cans being the Headphones....

Talkbacks comes in varying different forms from Wired to Wireless Radios and varying degrees of expense....

...look into hiring a Talkback system...talk nicely to your local hire place and see what they can dig out from there store room for as cheap as chips hire price and say you will give them some free Ad space in the shows program....

see what happens.