Dry Ice

gav8298

Hi people.

Head of dance is determined she wants dry ice for this years dance show. I disagree and want to go for a "less is more" approach. Her excuse is that the dances are all to be themed around fantasy/wizard etc (nice cutting edge content then!).

Anyway, I've never used the stuff before. Can anyone let me know of anything I should be aware of before I try and sort it out?

Dry ice is a great effect for many reasons, and if used appropriately and properly usually kicks the butt of the majority of low cooled smoke effects.

If using CO2, there are definitely safety questions to be addressed, ie the fact that the ice WILL burn skin if handled incorrectly, and you also need to watch the build up of the fog - if you have a sunken orchestra pit, for example, it's best NOT to smother them in carbon dioxide...! :rolleyes: (Though some muso's might benefit from a bit of suffocation...! ;))

My experiences with cooled smoke (limited) have been that if the air about the stage is cool enough, the effect can be great, BUT if there's a lot of heat around (eg if you're using a lot of heat generating lights) then it can often rise too quickly, and look more like smoke than fog.

Try getting a cooled smoke on demo and see how it goes, but bear in mind that you'll need to replicate the ambient temp of your show to properly judge the effect.

Yeah it gets pretty hot in the auditorium area so I'll probably not get away with low smoke.

I'm not sure of the behaviour of dry ice as I've never used it before- surely with vigourous dancing it would get kicked about a lot making the stage look messy? also floor lighting would be useless as well.

I don't like this idea, so I've a OT question- what's the best way to tell a director their idea isn't a very good one?

Yeah it gets pretty hot in the auditorium area so I'll probably not get away with low smoke.