Inexpensive boundary mics vs hung condensers

palantir

Greetings

I'm not very experienced in micing a stage, but I've done sound effects for panto's for years...& years.....& years: I recently bought 3 Pro Signal boundary mics. from CPC & I'm now using them in final rehearsals for the upcoming Panto:

Our "Musical Director" has decided to get his Arse in his hand because HE mic'd the stage last year, using 3 unspecified mics on stands in front of the apron & 2 Audio Technica pro 45's overhead to pick up from upstage. This arrangement worked better than mine, even though he hasn't heard the new mic's working yet ;) . The fact that they were inexpensive means they are cr-p.

Having refused my offer to do a blind comparison between the 2 setups, he now insists that I use the pro 45's hung just behind the prosc. between the boundary mics - to fill in the gaps :P . Anything for a quiet life, I'll do just that (After all - fingers do slip on faders sometimes).

The real purpose of this post (I'm not really whigeing well, not much anyway) is to ask if anyone has used the Pro Signal MP33682's as stage mic's and, if so, do they stand up well compared to more expensive hung mic's? I'd really appreciate some informed opinion as, if I don't know I keep quiet, then find someone who does know & ask him.

Pete

Mics on stands at the front of the stage - work. Work as in they pick up sound from directly in front. In terms of quality, they rarely cut it - as somebody moves across the stage they go loud soft loud soft etc. Also - most cheap cardioids are very thin and weedy at distance.

Overheads do work - if the sound they pick up is what you want. Great for tap, poor when the voices of the people on stage are pointing forwards not upwards.

Cheap doesn't always equate to rubbish sound - thee are more aspects to it than this.

Boundary mics work better by design, but if this person has more pips on their shoulders then nothing you can say will work.