Classic Palette help

lx bear

I've just started a new job at a school as Theatre manager (covering lighting, sound, maintenance.everything)

the lighting desk that I've got to work with is the Strand Classic Palette, I've never used and Strand desk before - always been ETC or Zero 88.

I have one simple problem, where on earth is the Grand Master???

I've gone in to the hardware set up and opted for the faders c/d to become master faders but for some reason they arent working, in fact I cant get the sliders to do anything other than being able to load states on to them, I think I should be able to choose to have a 2 scene A/B scenes but cant even get the thing to do that for me.

Am I missing something or are these desks really bad.

I've looked in the manual, on the help page but cannot get the desk to change its hardware options - although I can disable the DBO thats about it.

I asked a friend that knows Strand desks, for help, she downloaded the software on to her pc to look at and she couldnt even get it to do it.

Can anyone advice me what I am doing wrong and how to get the thing working properly.

thanks

Sarah

Not wanting to appear flippant and unhelpful but have a look at Strand Lighting UK and click on Support then Training. There are Classic Palette courses coming up in February, April and June.

Edit...

I've just booted up the software and pressing F3 then F9 took me to the Grand Master setup option. I don't have a physical desk so I can't tell you where the fader is, if there is one, but there is an option in the OLE...

Thanks for replying, the training would be useful, this problem is just irritating me now though.

I've gone through the hardware set up many times, but for some reason what ever I select doesnt seem to hold.

Am very confused.

Will keep playing around on it still.

I see your problem.

I have just walked into our workshop and there is a rather tired looking, just over a year old looking classic palette.