Impedance change effect on crossover?

Soulman

A friend of mine recently replaced some 4 ohm speakers in his PA subs, with more powerful speakers, but the replacements were 8 ohms. He has also changed to using tops rated at 8 ohms. He has plenty amp power, so that is not a problem.

My question is, will the crossover built into the subs be affected by the impedance changes, and if so,....how? Will it still work at the same frequency separation? I am obviously not a teckie on speaker electrics, but I have seen some crossover PCBs with an impedance value stamped on them. I didn't want to worry my friend unnecessarily.

I'm not entirely sure on this one, but I believe 2 way crossovers have some form of input impedance which may or may not be related to the impedance put across the outputs (both low and high). It's a while since I studied such things, but alot of 2 way crossovers will see an 8ohm load if an 8ohm sub and an 8ohm top are connected. This I believe is often where power ratings are mistaken.

Someone will be along in the morning to correct me I'm sure. What I can tell you is that obviously the crossover should be under less stress due to the decrease in power, but then again will the loss in power cause you to need to drive the amps harder. My guess is no, and amp that is 100% efficient in terms of power to impedance will output half what it does at 8ohms as it will at 4ohm. 3dB less for a theoretical load. That is if the driver specs are identical all but impedance.

Rob

I'm not entirely sure on this one, but I believe 2 way crossovers have some form of input impedance which may or may not be related to the impedance put across the outputs (both low and high). It's a while since I studied such things, but alot of 2 way crossovers will see an 8ohm load if an 8ohm sub and an 8ohm top are connected. This I believe is often where power ratings are mistaken.