Hireing Cheap Lights

Darkness

Hi Guys,

I work in a school in London and its time for the annual sixth form fashion show. There isn't really a budget for it that I know of they want to put some lights around the stage on the floor and use them as up lighters some bars we could fit them to or possibly even clip onto the stage 1 girl did say she had seen before using par 16 lights.

My question is does anyone have any ideas on cheap effects or lights we could possibly get in cheaply, if we could get some 15amp extension leads we have enough frenels to put around the stage. Or does anyone have anything they are willing to lend us or know where to hire something cheaply and fairly locally.

Thanks for any ideas

Kevin

Have a quick search, there are many other threads about the topic of ideas for fashion shows, etc. If you are still stuck after reading through those, get back to us.

its not so much ideas for fashions, just thought id drop that in incase any one had any, more where to get some lights and if anyone was aware of anywhere that maybe done hire cheaper for schools or if anyone had any equipment they might be willing to lend

As with anything else, you're highly unlikely to get the loan of ANY decent equipment from anyone but a colse personal friend. Most of the people on here with available hire stock have a responsibility to pay for the kit they own, AND maintain it, so loaners are simply not viable.

Simple answer - the show MUST have some budgetary ideas - convince the producers that to make the event go better you need x, y and z - and that to GET that you'll need to hire in.

Yep - it's the famous rule of threes. Cheap, Safe, and Quality - you only get to pick two of them (and yes, safe has to be one of them). Sorry - looks like you'll either need to rapidly befriend somebody, or up your budget.