Where do Macs get there power from

techie18

Hi all,

I am new to the Blue Room.

I was just wondering where Macs get there power from. I understand most of the areas of DMX and how all DMX fixtures are connected via XLR cables in a daisy chain from the LX board but do they get there power from normal domestic house sockets, do they plug into stage lighting sockets or do they get there power another way.

Can someone tell me?

I don't do much with intelligent lights in college because we don't have a DMX rig.

The reason I ask is that I want to purchase some DMX lights and a DMX controller. I am looking at getting a Geni- DM 4. Would I be able to control Mac 500s with this? I want to get some moving heads which can be controlled by a Geni DMX controller and don't know which ones are the best to get.

Thanks

James

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

MAC's like most moving heads take power from IEC power, others have direct power.

The plug on the end of that could be a 13A 3 pin uK plug, or a 16A ceeform.

DMX is data, and does not carry power.

Also I won't start this one, but XLR is a connector not a cable or a protocol.

The power that we feed to moving lights and other things that don't like being connected to dimmers, we call 'hard power'. It might 'emerge' on a 13, 15 or 16 amp socket - the only important thing is that it is NOT coming from a dimmer.

Moving heads and mirrors come, as you've discovered in all shapes, sizes, qualities and brightnesses. Some are simple and maybe go left/right/up/down in a few colours and maybe with a few patterns (gobos). Others are much, much more sophisticated. You mention MAC 500s - perfectly good fixtures, maybe a little elderly now, but plenty of people can service them, and they are pretty tough.