Further Education in Technical Theatre

I was wondering if anybody knew of good colleges/universities for over 18 education in lighting, Sound, Stage Management etc. its best if they are in the UK and give a degree at the end. I have already read the theard on guild hall... does anybody know of any others...

Thanks

Dan

The RSAMD in Glasgow does a BA in technical and Production Arts. I just graduated from there in July. A really good course and covers all aspects oftechnical theatre production. Just search for RSAMD in any search engine.

Forgot The Bristol Old Vic Theatre School...

Carol Smith is the lady you want to get in touch with if you are interested in coming for an interview.

The contact details are on the school's website: http://www.oldvic.ac.uk/

BTW I'm a student there at the moment doing the technical theatre course (the course title is Stage Management, which is slightly confusing as you can get away with avoiding doing any SMgt if you want to).

Also a new book that may be of some help performing arts technical training handbook 2007/2008

I found the book disappointing - the sources detailed above are the horses mouth sources - this was no doubt accurate when written, but has ommisions and some vapour programmes - as in they never got off the ground, but the centres hoped they'd run. I'm not sure the book is really that useful as unless you buy a new one each year, it's kind of disposable. I rather hoped it would have more real content and advice

Also a new book that may be of some help performing arts technical training handbook 2007/2008