Portable lighting systems

cfnbryn

Hiya, Im Cairn, I did write a massive post all about what I do for my school, what Ive done lighting wise in school etc. but my PC crashed and I cant be bothered to re-write it all so Im going to cut to the chase this time.

Im a 16 year old from south Wales, and I am my schools 'lighting technician', I am self taught...and have done the lighting for over 100 different school events, including school musicals, concerts, GCSE & A Lvl drama exams.

I am in charge of picking out all the new lighting equipment for school, and am pretty stuck for ideas. We have a mediocre lighting system, we have a new ZERO88 Jester 24/48 desk and a decent supply of floods, fresnels and profile spots...but we are looking for a decent...cheap portable lighting system. The head master is being rather tight and wouldnt let me have my first choice of equipment that tottalled to £5000, so I am reconsidering what we need. A system with 2 profile spots, 4 Fresnels, 2 Tee bars with dimmer racks etc , a 6 channel desk, and a filter pack would be good...but as I am self taught my knowledge on equipment names and technical terms is limited, and sometimes I get slightly confused when looking at things, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

thnx

Cairn

Just before I start I just want to say NEVER call your Headmaster Tight

[/rant]

Any How for A kit I'd get a

STAGE ELECTRICS SELECON LIGHTING KIT 2

and also an

STAGE ELECTRICS SELECON LIGHTING KIT 1.

Because these each come with 3 Fresnels. Get 2 S4 Profiles and Replace 2 of the Fresnels with them and keep the Fresnels as Spares

Linky1

Linky2

These are the product pages for the Lighting kits 1&2 respectively

Stage LX website

Josh

Can I just ask, what is the intended purpose of this system?

Personally for that spec I'd be looking at cct minute/strand quartet or selecon fixtures, ran from alphapacks with a 6ch desk.

Alphapack:

http://common.zero88.com/public/images/Alpha2.jpg