Problems with our Smoke machines

Oliver S

Hi

Just before I beginn I would like to introduce myself:

I am a student at a school in south africa and am a member of the schools sound & lighting crew and am mainly responsible for the lighting. We do all the techical requirements for all school functions, fashion shows, v-ball, matric ball, festivals, and all other various theatre productions that happen during the year.

The problem we are having is this:

We have two smoke machines similar to the following Linky , the problem is that I can only show you that pick of what they similarily look like as they were bought by the previous tech's of the school and we don't know what kind they are.

To understand the problem I will shortly explain how ours work:

You have a standard three pin plug to plug into the wall socket which leads to the machine and gets incerted via a kettle cable and then there is another kettle cable port where you connect the remote.

Now wenn plugged in , on the remote a light is brightly lit. And then it means that it is heating up. When the light dimms , then you know that it is ready and you can push the button and smoke comes out...

Now the thing is that for the Ball we needed constant smoke, so we taped the button down so that it would stay in the " give smoke" "position" and everytime once it had let out smoke and then reheated it would smoke again.

So we had to go and told someone to pack away the smoke machine wenn it was out of liquid. So we get back to school the next day and find out that the person had left the smoke machine on. and it was trying to smoke but the liquid had run out ....and we assume that it was still trying to heat but had no liquid.

Problem was that now it does not work anymore as we assumed the person had fried the machine. Wenn we plugged it in the light never went to the "ready position" even though it had 5 times the normal time it takes to heat up.