What Speakers Should I Get?

Ste69

I was thinking about maybe getting a 1000W PA system to use for band gigs at small venues and also slightly larger venues. I want a system that is powerful enough to be used outdoors as well as inside. I would put my budget at around £600 as I am only a student and when I have more cash can upgrade to better equipment. I was thinking about maybe getting the Thomann T-AMP 2400 which provides 1200W at 4 ohms or 650W at 8 ohms, is this a good option? If it is what speakers would you recommend? I was originally looking at Peavey Pro-15's but I'm not entirely sure. Any advice or help would be much appreciated. :)

Is the 1000W PA available from maplins any good at all? If I remember I think the speakers were actually 500W peak so it would be less that 1000W.

It depends on your ears! I'd say they sound like rubbish, but you may think they sound good. Have a listen and form your own opinion.

Your budget is very tight.. I'd say look 2nd hand our think about building your own cabs.

Lastly, don't forget that watts don't really indicate quality or suitability in a PA system. Look for answers in the sensitivity and frequency range.

Judging speakers on their power ratings is a very misleading way to try and gauge how 'loud' they are. Yes the speaker might be capable of sinking 500W, but with no idea of the efficiency of the driver and cabinet you have no idea how much of that electrical power is being turned into sound.

For instance a Funktion 1 Resolution 2 SH has an 80W 8" Midrange driver and a 50W 1" HF Compression Driver.

A Yamaha AX-15 has a 1" Compression Driver and a 15" Midrange driver with a combined power handling of 400W.

So, if you go by power rating you think the AX-15 is louder. Thing is you'd be so wrong it's untrue, as anyone who's heard these units would testify. The sensitivity can give you a better idea: