I thought GSA was ment to be good

Ben Lawrance

I recently visited a production at Guildford College, in which my girlfriend was taking part.

As a technician of light and sound, I was curious to see the technical side of the show, because I was told that the students of the college have lessons at the GSA.

When I heard this, I thought the show would be really good, using the latest technology and what not.

When I arrived and took my seat, I was shocked to see the stage lite with a few profiles and the odd fresy. To make matters worse, when the show started the light was all over the place, nothing was focused properly, the stage had loads of dark spots.

The whole thing seemed very very unprofessional, as cue's were missed, lights changed at the oddest moments, etc etc.

Now, as a student myself, I can make way for a few operator errors etc, but there is no excuse for "bad" lighting at this level.

I was thinking about going to the GSA after my course at college, but I am now having very severe doubts. If it is teaching students to do work like that then I don't what to go there.

Sorry if this sounds like a rant, but I think it needed to be said.

If any one can enlighten me with some details about the GSA course and why that show was so (technically) bad.

Rgds

Sounds like a classic case of not having enough time to me, or maybe no-one was available to do the work...particularly if the focus was as bad as you say...

Or they could have been using my patented Freeform Textural Lighting Design tm Process:

Freeform = I'll make it up when I get there

Textural = Great big holes in the General Cover

(See also: High Efficency = I'll use whatever's rigged already.) ;)

As for nasty kit - that's my point exactly! Students should (also) have to work with some old and nasty stuff and learn it's mysterious "ways."

I'm just saying, don't be too harsh. There's probably a damn good reason why things were wrong...almost certainly not the quality of the teaching.