Creating an effect..

ceecrb1

I know, for someone of my experience I should know.. but the truth is I have very little lighting desk experience (last of the main things I've yet to do really)

so.. having problems with the idea of an effect. not really a desk specific problem just a general how to do a chase...

say I had a bar with for arguments sake 10 movers on (all hypothetical here) and say I wanted all odd numbers to move, finnish moving then close shutter...

at this point all even numbers should move (shutter open) and the odd number lights should be returning to start possition with shutters closed...... at the end of their movement, evens close shutter...

odds open shutter and move, evens return to start... and so on (repeat)

an example could be.. lights always swaying from left to right, as one group reaches right, another starts the "sway" from left to right... ie light only moves left to right but is "continual"

now I can see how to repeate the movement.. but not with the shutter opening and closing as and when I choose...

edit.. I can also see how to make ALL the lights do this effect... ie light moves.. shutters close.. reset.. but not "stepped" with 2 or more groups

This question really has no meaning without knowing what Desk you wish to achieve this on. It is certianly very possible; but a lot depends on which console you would be using.

Some desk would be able to do this with a few clicks, some would struggle to do this easily at all.

On desks which are clever enough to be able to apply different times to different attributes within the same cue, a simple two-step cuelist/chase will achieve this :

Step 1 : odd-numbered fixtures shutter open (snap) and move to position A (in req'd time) ; even-numbered fixtures shutter closed (snap) and move to position B (in req'd time)

Step 2 : vice-versa.