How dimmers work??

ceecrb1

can anyone give me a rough outline of the internals of a dimmer.....

gotta learn as just discovered our company has LOTS waiting for repair and I aint repaired them before....

(mind you I said that about ballasts too and now I´m getting quite good with them!)

so far, for me dimmers have always been the magical buzzing box backstage... but this has to change

I am an electrical engineer but an informed head start is always a help

ta muchly

Always best to upgrade to 40 amp triacs as most budget dimmers will have smaller capacity ones. Several different case styles.

Some triacs are INSULATED TAB triacs so make sure you put the correct ones in.

Print out and keep data sheets for all triacs and scr's you come across to make sourcing replacements easier.

Print out and keep tech manuals for dimmers you have in use.

A common fault I come across is open circuit gate resistors, usually 10 ohm half watt. replace with same as this is what is classed as a "safety resistor" and dies to protect the triac.

If the channel is permanently on, usually a shorted triac.

If the channel won't come on, usually the triac driver, MOC3021, MOC3041, BRT12 etc.

If the channel is flickering randomly, could be a faulty gate on the triac, partially damaged.

Dimmers are grouped in modules of four per phase. If a group of four channels are faulty, look at the phase reference circuit for that group.

The epanorama is a good link.

Some Theatrelight dimmers have a mode switch on the front panel and need to be set to desk for DMX in to work. Check mode switches and also for correct alignment of the mode switch knob.

I use an adaptor to run dimmers of a single phase plug to allow use of an rcd, to pat test etc, some dimmers need three phases for correct operation of monitoring circuits. They will still work single phase but will show a fault condition.

Develop a safe working practise when working on dimmers as you will have to test with them live.