vison mixer advice please

nightster

Hello,

I'm a newbie both here and to the video world...so bear with me :-)

I'm hoping I could get some advice on purchasing a second hand video mixer?

I run a small events company and we often have the need to run plasma screens and projectors during events - conferences, balls etc etc

At the moment, we tend to use video switchers, but they dont produce a very nice effect really, with stuttering and black screens during switching etc.

We need to source a vison mixer which will make all of this much nicer. It doesn't need to be anything special at all, but needs to do the job obviously.

These are the required functions:

- To have at least 5 inputs (and be able to accept DVD, laptop, cameras)

- To be able to fade between the various sources

- To handle all the scaling issues that I just dont understand

- To be able to output to plasma and projectors

- Needs to be easy to use and reliable

Here are the desireable (but not essential) features:

- To have two seperate outputs (so some screens can show one thing and others another)

- To have the abilty to store a "holding slide"

It will only be used in the live production environment, so it doesn't need to be able to interface with a PC or anything, as I have seen some do.

So any suggestions for a model I should look out for on the second hand market?

Is there anything specifically I need to know before buying?

Many thanks for your help in advance - really appreciate it!

Cheers,

Rob.

Mixers to handle 625 line composite are cheap compared with the higher resolution digital formats. Outputting in 625 composite works but all the better formats work better. Really LOTS depend on the resolution you expect at the output.

There are plenty of options around depending on your budget and how important the matrix facility is (having 2 seperate outputs).