Drum Mic Kits

RoyS

I have been helping at my daughters school organizing the disorganized PA. One thing they could do with is a kit of drum mics, including associated clips to avoid a jungle of boom stands. The mics will be used not only for PA work but also for recording students for GCSE course & exam work. Money of course is restricted and the budget is about £100, but could possibly rise to £150m if well justified. Does anybody have any opinions on particular brands and suppliers?

I guess possible brands will include, Behringer, Sampson and T-Bone from Thomann. As regard supplier, I’ve had some good experiences with Blue Aran. I feel sure that Beyer, Shure, AKG, etc will fall outside of the budget…. Many thanks in anticipation for all advise.

but could possibly rise to £150m if well justified.

I want that budget! :)

On the original question, I know you can actually buy drum kit sets for a little over £100, whether or not they are any good is a different question! I would ask around your local PA places, and find what they have on offer.

The next question is do you actually need a full set of mics? A proper noiseboy (I'm a lampie with some sound experience) will be able to help you with that, but factors that would have to be taken into consideration would be, number of drums in the set, and number of free channels on your desks. There's no point micing a full drum kit when you only have 5 channels left and you don't have the budget for an extra desk(s) to submix.

For performance pieces, and also exam recording,2 decent overhead mic's would probably do the job just as well, and cheaper. They pick up the overall sound, so the mixing is easier, also less likely to get knocked off onto the drum kit which can give you some strange noises!

Examiners don't always want a fully miked mixed down drum kit either, its the complete sound they are interested in, not always how well can you mic a kit.

Just my humble opinion.