Dad needs basic help!

MXDAD

I'd like to take a min to mention how much help the FAQ's have been on this forum. Thank you to all. I have learned much in the past few days. Though I'm not from your side of the pond these sound principals are universal.

Let me start out buy describing my role in sound reinforcement. I'm a dad of drummer who is part of a very young and talented band, average age of 11yo. The kids are part of a band program at our local music school and have now played 5 or 6 shows at a local pub put on buy the music school and have recently started to play other shows not part of the music school.

This is where I enter in the absence of a "qualified and knowledgeable" sound man. The first show I had a friend who in the past has done "live sound" in a very amateur capacity help me out with the kids shows. He possessed some very old and mostly substandard abused equipment that I have since come to posses. I have now completed 2 shows with the kids on my own with marginally acceptable results. The kids play fantastic but it's not reflected in the videos we take of the shows.

This preamble brings me to a few questions I have in creating a better sound for both FOH and in the stage monitors. Note the use of industry jargon eg. FOH :o

Where do I start reading to get basic knowledge that is not mentioned on this sight I suspect because it's common knowledge? For example...

Right now I have a small archaic "stereo" mixer (I have since realized this just means does not have industry standard XLR connectors so good luck in renting a snake).An underpowered power amp 2x FOH old full range Peavey speakers with 15inch drivers and 2x monitors that appear home made or modified.

I now simply set this up all mono split the amp half to the monitors and half to the front speakers. I read about mixers with monitor outputs and sending part or all of the signal to one or all of the monitors but no where does it spell out how one does this?