Got the training, now get the job!

I am sure this subject has been covered a billion times over. But hey, I'll try again.

I just need some advice to see If I am swimming up the right river.

Here goes...

I am a Lighting Technician and I have been out of work for about four months now. My last place of work was at one of London's largest theatres, if not the largest. So I thought to myself I could find work easily by telling my prospective employers about my recent top ventures in London and the south east.

Big mistake. I sat on my laurels thinking my phone will ring...or not as the case may be.

I need to get off my arse and physically see people, but here lies my problem. This costs money to travel up to London. Money I don't have.

My strategy is to go around the West End trying to get people's names, numbers and drop off CV's and if I am lucky I get to see them at the same time. Effing hard that is!

Okay now I have my contacts even though I have practically seen no Chief LX; it's either their too busy, not in, or probably the most hard to swallow, not interested.

But when I get back home I try to follow-up my leg-work by making phone calls to people who are never in!! I am starting to think that; (a) they get these phone calls all the time and don't care; (b) or is it because of me! I.e not good enough.

Though I have had some success and (mostly) bad luck. I did get offered followspotting work but the chief LX at the time said I was too good for the job, because my level of pay expectation is greater than they can muster although they were very nice about it. "They" said try the larger venues.

Back to square one

Picking up the phone is THE hardest thing for me, I think it sounds presumptuous and rude and probably annoying for the other party. "giz a job". But I do have to keep telling myself thats how I got my last job by speaking to the head of LX!