A wireless Idea

zac coupe

This idea was originally brought to my attention by Simon West. In light conversation about sound and technical jargon...you know how it goes.

Any how to the point, I have got a 2 in 8 out omnidrive in my rack which I'm planning on hooking up to my tablet PC via wireless, (Ive got the wireless side sussed and I know what leads and blue tooth stuff I require) so that I can wander the room and change the eq settings, crossover points, delays etc. I have the BSS software to do this, and I am also looking into investing in smaart live as I had a go on it on my friends computer and liked it. What reference Mic and USB mixer would you recommend? This is an area I'm not to hot on and I'm fairly new to all this computer stuff. So what are my options?

Hi There,

In answer to your question, You would need a flat omnidirectional condenser microphone for measurement purposes. If you are looking for the best then it would be a DPA 4007 or 4006 but this is somewhere in the region of £1000, The behringer ECM8000 one at £40 is quite a bargain as it is (give or take 2 or 3db) fairly flat. A middle ground would be the Audix TR40 at £120.

The soundcard would need to be able to provide two analogue mic/line inputs and phantom power. Something like an Edirol UA1 is quite popular. It doesnt have to be anything too esoteric as the transfer function on a SMAART system compares the difference between two incoming signals so the soundcard is effectively cancelled out.

I would strongly recommend anyone using analysis software to go on a Meyer SIMM or EAW Smaart course. The Meyer SIMM course was one of the most useful training sessions I have ever had and totally changed my approach to System Design/Lineup/EQ etc

Hope this Helps

Griff