USB DMX devices

andrewb

I need help choosing one of the usb DMX devices out there. I have a rig with sixteen intelligent fixtures and around fifty conventionals. This all fits into one universe.

Now, I've been looking into a Whole Hog 3PC (been using the console for a few years) but the price off the DMX widget($1525 USD) is deterring me. Basically I need to know what's the next best thing. What's most important to me is that the software package be of professional quality. If I have to end up going with the Hog 3PC I will but I atleast would like to know what's out there.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andrew

Hello Andrew

I have had some experience using hog3pc and a widget,

I have also lot of experience using Jands Vista via a PC and S3 wing , having programed a few events and shows just using a laptop with the usb to DMX dongle,

The other system you might want to research is the chamsys as this as well can use a dongle and also add wings as and when needed or afforded.

the hardest part of this is learning and becoming proficient on a new console.

A word of warning, the hardest and most time consuming part of programing without any form of rotory encoders is the focus positions it is a real pain if you will be constantly redoing or changing focus groups spend a bit more and get a wing.

Thanks for the input.

As mentioned above, I'd really like to get go with the Hog but my local dealer is quoting me $2,500 USD which is one heck of a markup from the quote I got from High End ($1525). I just feel like I'm getting robbed there.

I'm checking into Jands Vista. You mentioned you have had a bit of experience with the system. Compared to the Hog III software, how would you rate the Vista software? While it doesn't have to be "pretty", I am looking for something that operates fairly smooth.

Hi Andrew,

Have you looked at LightFactory ?

A package is available for $590 for 1 DMX Universe License and 1 USB Pro DMX Interface.