Behringer 2412 desk and NJD Datamoon effects

WAL

Hi there,

Please excuse my dimness (no pun intended), but I'm a virtual newbie to all of this DMX lighting business.

I have a Behringer 2412 lighting desk (am I the only one who believes that the manual was written by a German in Martian?) and I want to run some of the old style NJD Datamoon effects from it (by "old style" I mean that they have stereo jack DMX (rather than three pin XLR) sockets.

The Desk has a five pin DMX outlet. I purchased an XLR adaptor for it and fed a dimmer pack and a set of par cans. I manageed to get everything working. So I know that the desk is sending DMX mesages properly and that the adaptor I bought is fine.

In order to get the desk to control the Datamoons, I went to Maplins and purchased an additional XLR to stereo jack converter.

I set the desk with the DMX channels allocated 1:1 in the "preset" mode and I set a Datamoon with DIL switch number 1 only in the "on" position. The Datamoon manual suggests that the number on the DIL +1 is the DMX start address, and so I pushed up the faders 2, 3, 4 & 5 on the desk expecting to see the Datamoon motors start to fire up and the light effects start to change..........Nothing happened. In fact pushing all of the faders up produced absolutely nothing.

The Datamoon works fine on its own and merrily dances in the presence of a bit of a beat, so there is nothing wrong with that. However, the effects switch off when I insert the jack into the DMX input. Since the desk appears to be working okay, I presume it is one of two things - I have either programmed the DMX addresses wrongly, or the XLR to stereo convertor is wired the wrong way around, but I am not quite sure where the problem lies.

Can anybody please help me?

Regards

WAL