new kit

afterworks

In a few months im going have about £4000 to spend on some new kit. I currently have 2x Robe 250XTs...for my first set of movers they've been a good to me! I'm not very keen on the red tho, although thats not very relevant for my question! I'm also currently using a showtec light desk pro 136, which again has been ok for learning some basics of moving lights, but have out grown this and I've realized its not any real use for what I use the movers for. I use the movers for the rock gigs I organize. I have been using my Robes with 6 pars, some UV cannons combined with some white cammo netting I have and its always looked great for our purpose. I have also been doing some lighting jobs for other gigs, but because those venues dont always have a single or 3 phase output, I cant use the pars so I'm left with my 2 robes, which don't really cut it. I'm starting to get more work for different people in all sorts of venues, so I need to upgrade.

I'm by no means a professional, but have been fortunate to work and hire from my local theatre. I'm doing a Frog course tomorrow down at Zero88's base in south wales, and am going to London to do an avolites training day, and a play day the following day at the end of the month (I'm one very excited bloke!!)

I obviously want to spend my money as best as possible and just want to run my thoughts past you guys....

I need a new desk, either would like a fat frog or a pearl. I know ive never used either yet, but from what ive learned on here, they seem the best options. A 2nd had fatfrog is the cheapest option and this will leave me money to buy some fixtures. From what I've read on here the pearl seems to be a better fitting desk as I want a 'busk' friendly desk as possible. Also it would mean if I'm in a decent venue with their own kit, ie academy 3 manc, I wouldn't have a problem using their pearl.