I'm starting teching on tuesday

dfinn

hi,

I have currently never done any sound or light work for stages etc but I am a young mobile dj and I understand the basics of DMX lighting and how to set up an audio system.

I was just wondering if there were any vital tips that you people could give me when I start the work. I have my first meeting on tuesday.

erm, well there are 4 of us including me who do the sound and light work now

1 is the main guy, he is dead good at it,

2 and 3 are 2 that joined recently

and I am the newbie.

I have been told that at the first meeting I will be talkied throught the sound equipment and then the lights, they run 2 DMX desks

controllingn 8 colourchangers, 4 atm's floods and spots etc

I am just going to be settin g up and running the sound and light, we all muck in and do a bit of everything really, I dont think there are any specific sound or light people.

Dan

sorry,

it's at my high school

well, I am a musician as well so the musical concerts I wont do light and sound work but our school now has performing arts status so we will have drama show and productions.

Hey,

I started out in the 'technician' team at my secondary school a couple of years back. I had little more knowledge than you do (the principals of DMX and colour use etc) and now I'm preparing for our centenary production of Jesus Christ Superstar as chief electrician! We're using an ambitious lighting rig including intelligent moving lights and this has all stemmed from a spark of enthusiasm about the technical side of theatre that I picked up from my older cousin.

A couple of years may sound like a lot, but we put on a maximum of five shows a year and only one of those is a major one. It's surprising how your confidence grows over such a short time as far as techniques and knowledge is concerned.