Help With Par 56 Cans

arny

I am new in the industry and have recently purchased 8 par can 56 long's. I currently dony have any dimmer packs instead I aim to rent them when I need to. I have a couple of questions (probably very obvious) please can anyone help.

Can Par 56 Cans have 15 amp plugs? My par can only has 1.5mm cable coming from it.

Can They Be linked up to socapex and connected straight into dimmers (such as the avolites art 2000t) or is that sort of dimmer two powerfull? Bearing in mind that I would be using a lot more pars.

Thank you for your help

Can Par 56 Cans have 15 amp plugs?

Yes.

My par can only has 1.5mm cable coming from it.

That's more than enough for the 300w that a PAR56 will draw.

Can They Be linked up to socapex and connected straight into dimmers (such as the avolites art 2000t)

Yes.

or is that sort of dimmer two powerfull?

There's no such thing as a dimmer that's "too powerful" for a lantern (unlike an amp which can be too powerful for a speaker). As long as you're not connecting a load to a dimmer that's greater than that which the dimmer is rated for, you'll be absolutely fine.

But why should that stop the guy from buying a few small parcans? I mean, what better way to start a basic lighting kit collection than with a few of the most basic kind of lantern? Given the current trend for newbies to dive straight in and buy themselves some cheap sh!tty moving lights and a fancy-but-useless Behringer desk, we should be commending Arny for making such a sensible first purchase, and answering his questions as helpfully as possible.